WK Nowlan Real Estate Advisors
Dublin D02 FY24
Registered in Ireland No.543848
PSRA No. 003341
The Convent, which is clad in Welsh brick and Navan Limestone, was completed in 1932. It is thought the Convent was designed by the renowned architect John J Robinson following his return from the UK in 1913. Robinson entered partnership with architect Richard Cyril Keefe, forming the practice Donnelly, Moore, Keefe and Robinson, which became Robinson & Keefe in 1922. Robinson initially specialised in church architecture, during this time in 1932 he designed the altar for the Eucharistic Congress in the Phoenix Park.
Nestled in-between green fields and the Abbeyfield bungalows purpose built for ex-service men. A palpable difference to todays established community, which has grown to accommodate a much larger residential population than was present in the Convent’s first years.
The detailed chapel also includes work from prestigious Dublin architect P. J. Munden. Munden is well known for his work within Ireland and acted as architectural advisor to the Holy Faith Sisters throughout his career.
In the late 1960’s the Order provided the balance of lands for the establishment of St Mary’s Secondary School, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. In more recent times, additional lands were provided to St Mary’s Secondary School for use as all-weather pitches and a grass soccer pitch, which are not affected by the sale.